you're reading...
military wife

Homecoming

My sister-in-law is back!  It’s great to have her home.  We’re more like sisters than in-laws to be honest.

She has been away three and a half months, and is a nurse in ITU.  It’s strange what gets you through a tour, and for her it’s been the fact she is getting married in June next year.  I, like many, sent parcels, eblueys and abused her a little for book research purposes, but I couldn’t believe that her friend received nothing.

I’d never met the poor girl, and neither had my SIL until she got out there, but she told me she felt sorry for her because she never received any parcels from her family, friends or fiancé.  I was astounded so sent her a parcel of pajamas and a couple of films.  I got the loveliest card in return and can’t wait to meet up with her at my SIL hen party, if not before.

I just can’t image having and friend or loved one over there and not sending anything.  My husbands next tour has been moved forwards about six months, and although he’s only off to the Falklands I’ll still be sending plenty of parcels.  It lets them know that they are loved, thought about, and the fact that someone took the time to put that parcel together.

It’s no wonder charities like Afghan Heroes exist.  http://www.afghanheroes.org.uk my hub was lucky enough to get one of their ‘home comfort’ boxes whilst he was in Afghanistan.  It was the first time I’d heard of them, but they do a range of fantastic work.

I’ll be seeing my SIL soon and I’m sure we shall talk, talk and talk some more-whilst bridesmaid dress shopping with the two weirdest people I have ever had the misfortune to meet, but that for another blog.

Nat

 

 

 

About Natalie James

I'm an air force wife. I've been with my husband since 2006 and married since 2009. He's been in the air force since 2002, so it's all I've known. Whilst we've been together he's been to Iraq and Afghanistan. I'm writing a fictional book on the trials and tribulations of being an air force girlfriend. One day I’m hoping I’ll get it published...one day.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Homecoming

  1. No presents or letters? Sounds horrible! Well doen you for stepping in xx

    Posted by celiajanderson | October 28, 2011, 21:16

Leave a Reply

