you're reading...
military wife

The pre-depolyment puzzle…

The balancing act...

What is the pre-deployment puzzle you may be thinking well it’s:

Trying to find the balance between not alienating your friends before your husband leaves on deployment, but trying to spend enough time with your husband before he leaves.

It’s not an easy task, especially in the run up to Christmas.  I have roughly three weeks before the hub leaves and working full-time and I have my degree assignment due in on the 3rd January.

Most friends usually understand that you won’t be seeing them that much of them, but you will need them a lot whilst he’s gone then won’t see them for a while when he get’s back as you’ll be reacquainting yourselves.  But there is always the friends that don’t really get it, and they’re the ones you have to decide if they really are friends.  Are they the ones you can call when you’re having a really lonely time, the ones you can pop round to without notice and who will invite you in regardless, and the ones who keep an eye out for you.

If it wasn’t for friends I would have really struggled through my last tour, especially when I did so much over time I got really sick, and I’m hoping that they will be here this time.

 

 

About Natalie James

I'm an air force wife. I've been with my husband since 2006 and married since 2009. He's been in the air force since 2002, so it's all I've known. Whilst we've been together he's been to Iraq and Afghanistan. I'm writing a fictional book on the trials and tribulations of being an air force girlfriend. One day I’m hoping I’ll get it published...one day.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The pre-depolyment puzzle…

  1. I’ll be your virtual friend, you can always moan to me online! xxx

    Posted by Celia Anderson (@CeliaAnderson1) | November 23, 2011, 06:57
  2. In three weeks time I will ensure my door is open for you, I might even tell you where I live! xxx

    Posted by Claire Dawkins | November 23, 2011, 17:05

Leave a Reply

