you're reading...
CB&S, Nomad Novelist Writers Group, Writing

My name is Natalie and I fail to finish…

The sticky middle.

Ok, so I’ve admitted it.

I really struggle to finish any book I start.  I don’t know why.

Here’s my incriminating history:

S – Sci-fi – Was plotted so finely I knew everything that was going to happen.  I wrote in a bizarre style where I would write whichever chapter or scene took my fancy like the last chapter I wrote when my hub had just deployed so I could channel all that emotion, but when it came to knit it all together I couldn’t.  Plus I realised how rubbish it was.

TS – Sci-fi – Was again plotted, but after receiving feedback I changed the piece so much it didn’t feel like mine anymore and I got overwhelmed with the knock on effect I knew it would have on the ten’s of thousands of words that followed it.

The current:

CB&S – chick-lit – I know where I want it to go, but can’t seem to get it there.  I’ve tried to not to write a detailed plot to see if that’s my down fall but I now feel lost in the sticky middle.

I know the title and the rough arc of my next book…

The next:

IADD – chick-lit – I’ve jotted down my ideas so I don’t lose them, but I resisting every fibre in my body not to run off and write it.

Any tips on getting past the sticky middle?

It makes me lose drive, and when I look at my fellow NOMADS who are storming ahead with writing and editing, and then I look at myself and I can make of excuses to why I’m so stretched for time, but they are just that, excuses.

The reality is I’m stuck.  Like with S when I got stuck I jumped to the next part I felt I could write, and ended up with a jumble of scenes that I couldn’t knit together.  Or TS if I make a change to the bits I’ve already written will it overwhelm me to edit the rest of it.  Or maybe I just keep taking the easy route out and start writing beginnings.

I’ve always favoured beginnings, my favourite Lord of the Ring’s is the Fellowship of the Ring, where the Fellowship is established.  Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, when Harry is getting ready for Hogwarts…maybe I’m a beginning junkie.

My name is Natalie and I’m a beginning junkie… so how do I break the cycle…

My name is Natalie and I'm a beginning junkie...

About Natalie James

I'm an air force wife. I've been with my husband since 2006 and married since 2009. He's been in the air force since 2002, so it's all I've known. Whilst we've been together he's been to Iraq and Afghanistan. I'm writing a fictional book on the trials and tribulations of being an air force girlfriend. One day I’m hoping I’ll get it published...one day.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “My name is Natalie and I fail to finish…

  1. I know exactly what you mean about the ‘stickie’ middle bit.

    Doing a detailed plot isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but I do recommend a rough outline of events. Then decide if the events justify their own chapter or if they need to be clumped together.

    With Disconnect – I knew the start and I knew the end…but the middle started irking me because it lacked passion and enough drive to make the start and end work,

    My method was….
    Simple Event outline continuing what i knew from the start and then working forwards as if i didnt know the ending.
    Then, repeat the above, but this time work from the ending and work backwards as if you are not ‘concreted’ by the start.

    Look at both sheets, and hopefully a connection will occur that allows the transition from Start to End.

    Dear Fellow-Nomad: You can do it.

    Posted by Imran Siddiq Writer (@Flickimp) | December 4, 2011, 18:00
  2. Hang in there – one day you’ll finish something! I totally agree with your choice of best beginnings. How are you doing? xxx

    Posted by celiajanderson | December 7, 2011, 06:40
    • I’m doing good thanks Celia. Husband leaves a week today then I’m going to have a mad rush to finish my assignment, well start and finish my assignment – 3000 words and literature review – ugh. Then I’ll get back to writing. I’m really wanting to join the RNA’s NWS scheme this year.
      How are you?

      Posted by Natalie James | December 8, 2011, 16:11

Leave a Reply

