you're reading...
military wife, Writing

Alone again…

Last night I watched as my hub went through check in and disappeared for at least four months.

If you’ve read my previous blogs you’ll know this isn’t the first tour we’ve been through.  There has been Iraq, Afghanistan and he was on a short trip to Germany (one week); when he was re-directed to Italy to help support the Lybia airstrikes and returned home eight weeks later.  So, it’s not the first time and I suspect it won’t be the last.  (Even if they don’t let him re-sign on, and he’s out in two and a half years, but that’s a whole new blog.)

I managed not to cry my eyes out, but I suspect that’s because friends were with us.  I had a few tears as I got in my car he’d text me from the departures, after security, and told me to keep smiling – which is what he always said when he was in Afghanistan.

I know he’s not going to be in danger, unless he winds up too many penguins, but it’s more the fact he’s not going to be here.  A super king sized bed is far too big for one girl!

Now you may be sensible in assuming this will leave me lots of time for writing; after my assignment.  But you’d be wrong.  Whilst he was in Iraq and Afghan I couldn’t write at all.  One of my fellow Nomads, Steph B, suggested maybe it was because the house was too quiet and it’s something I’ll bear in mind for this time.  I should be able to put my experiences to good use, and I hope I can write this time.

There is one small thing that winds me up; people keep saying it’s only the Falklands at least he’ll be safe. It’s never been about the danger, although it does play in the back of your mind, at least they’ll be no Op Minimise.  It’s more the fact he’s not here.  There’s no one to cuddle up to, no one to wind me up just because, no one to whinge to, and no one to share in the house work!

At least I’ve got good friends to rally round and keep me sane!

About Natalie James

I'm an air force wife. I've been with my husband since 2006 and married since 2009. He's been in the air force since 2002, so it's all I've known. Whilst we've been together he's been to Iraq and Afghanistan. I'm writing a fictional book on the trials and tribulations of being an air force girlfriend. One day I’m hoping I’ll get it published...one day.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Alone again…

  1. It may not help the sadness, but many appreciate your sacrifices. It’s a tough life for you both. Thank you.

    Posted by philosophermouseofthehedge | December 15, 2011, 17:48
  2. Thinking of you.

    Posted by Writing Sisters | December 15, 2011, 20:23
  3. Your friend’s comment says it all. We appreciate the sacrifice our men and women make to ensure our children have a safe and happy life. Thank you, Natalie. xx

    Posted by Laura E. James | December 18, 2011, 07:51

Leave a Reply

