you're reading...
military wife

The awkward truth…

Here’s the awkward truth about being a military wife, it’s lonely.  Of course in the literal sense I am alone, but in the subtle ways which you take for granted.

No hugs, no kisses, no cuddling up to someone in bed or the sofa, obviously no sex, no playful fighting, no one to warm my feet, and no subtle squeezes and strokes.  A phone call or skype cannot provide that; arms aren’t going to reach out of the phone or monitor and embrace me.  After a week my waist craves the feel of arms and I end up hugging my friends and family far more.  I crave the attention and touch.

Think, how many times you interact with your partner on a physical level in a day?

 

About Natalie James

I'm an air force wife. I've been with my husband since 2006 and married since 2009. He's been in the air force since 2002, so it's all I've known. Whilst we've been together he's been to Iraq and Afghanistan. I'm writing a fictional book on the trials and tribulations of being an air force girlfriend. One day I’m hoping I’ll get it published...one day.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The awkward truth…

  1. Here’s a huge hug from me xxx Hang in there…

    Posted by celiajanderson | January 6, 2012, 14:20

Leave a Reply

