you're reading...
Writing

Writing, writing, writing…

Yep you’ve read it correctly I’ve got the writing bug again.  I’m in a not sleeping phase; I have them often and I think it’s a lot to do with working shifts, but I seem to be writing with this one which is fabulous news!  I’m not sure whether it’s to do with a new work out regime, which for the record is torture, that is giving me loads of energy, or a new muse.

I never really saw myself as the sort of person to have a muse, but at the moment I’m being greatly inspired by an individual source.  The source shall remain unidentified, but the inspiration flows.  I get inspired by random things everyday; the notes function on my iPhone is awash with phases, sights, sounds, character traits I wish to remember and apply, and I’m sure many writers can relate be it a notebook or more modern technology of some form, but I’ve never gained so much from one source before.  I’m trying to utilise it whilst it lasts.

I often wonder if people have a prolific writing time.  I’m not a morning person at all, getting up for work nearly kills me and I know I couldn’t get up any earlier, but then I tend to be shattered after 13 hours on my feet walking here, there and everywhere.  And it’s 1am now and I’m up writing.  I don’t think I have a set best time.  Maybe one day when I can give up work, because I’m an uber successful writer with multimillion pound deals, I can I’ll normalise my body clock and have a writing schedule, but presently it’s very much around work and work outs.  I always was a dreamer!

Back to the writing board for me…

About Natalie James

I'm an air force wife. I've been with my husband since 2006 and married since 2009. He's been in the air force since 2002, so it's all I've known. Whilst we've been together he's been to Iraq and Afghanistan. I'm writing a fictional book on the trials and tribulations of being an air force girlfriend. One day I’m hoping I’ll get it published...one day.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Writing, writing, writing…

  1. Hi Natalie
    I’m wide awake, writing – rattled off nearly 3000 words today. I could stay up and carry on writing, but my sensible side says I should go and get at least 5 hours sleep.
    I fit writing around my family and my job as my mother’s carer, and night-time is the quiestest and least demanding part of the day in which to write.
    I’m off to try and get some sleep, but will probably think about the next chapter for an hour.
    Happy writing and I’m glad you have a new inspiration.
    Laura x

    Posted by strangelybzarra E. James | January 19, 2012, 01:31
  2. This was an excellent post. I enjoy reading your blog very much.

    Love Writing? Join Us Today – Writers Wanted

    Posted by Writing Jobs | January 19, 2012, 05:22
  3. Hello Natalie,
    Would love to know what your muse is.
    Can I have one?!
    I’m awake unusually early which sometimes happens when I’m working out a plot in my head.
    Good luck with your writing.
    Anita X

    Posted by Anita Chapman | January 19, 2012, 06:05
  4. Hi, Natalie. Thanks for the post!

    I write whenever I am by myself, so I guess it can be pretty much be at any hour, though I seem to write better at night. I need at least a 2-3 hour window, otherwise, it is difficult for me to even start. I feel that if I don’t have that much time, I won’t get anything productive done. Then I just get grumpy. 🙂

    -Dan

    Posted by danbracewell | January 19, 2012, 23:21
  5. Love the picture. So true.

    Posted by Jacqui Murray | January 21, 2012, 19:04

Leave a Reply

