you're reading...
CB&S, Writing

Missing: Mojo – if found please return.

I’ve lost my mojo.

For writing, for my day job, for home, for everything.  I feel lost.  That’s not a word I use lightly.  In fact it took me several minutes to choose that word.

My writing has ceased, again.  I plan to enter the Novelicious Undiscovered 2012 competition (http://www.novelicious.com/noveliciousundiscovered2012.html), so at this moment in time I really don’t need this.  I load up CB&S and stare at the screen, close my eyes and stare at my blank eyelids, listen to music for inspiration – usually I favour classical or jazz – I’ve even tried completely different genres, but it all fails.  Then there’s SM? my experimental piece; well the less said about that the better.

I’m reading loads, and quickly.  I’m even reading multiple books of multiple genres at once, but it doesn’t fill this gap I feel.

It’s a gap I know well.  Ever since I started taking my writing seriously it crops up from time to time, but it’s never lasted this long.  There’s nothing specific that breaks it.  A moment arrives where the flow returns, and I can’t wait.  I can’t wait for the moment, when I get caught up in my characters so much that I don’t want to leave the computer for fear the moment will end, when I laugh and cry at the world I’ve created, when I know it’s right and don’t second guess every sentence.

The only thing I’m feeling positive about now is working out and the Volvo Ocean Race (I can’t wait to learn how to sail in the summer) – crazy I know.

About Natalie James

I'm an air force wife. I've been with my husband since 2006 and married since 2009. He's been in the air force since 2002, so it's all I've known. Whilst we've been together he's been to Iraq and Afghanistan. I'm writing a fictional book on the trials and tribulations of being an air force girlfriend. One day I’m hoping I’ll get it published...one day.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Missing: Mojo – if found please return.

  1. O, love – I do feel for you. Nothing to say except to remember that you have lots of freinds, in the flesh and out here in cyber space, wishing you well and holding your hand. When your mojo goes away, we’ll commiserate, when it comes back, we’ll raise a glass and celebrate like crazy.

    Much love

    Celia x

    Posted by The Romaniacs | March 10, 2012, 05:45
  2. Believe it or not… I am having one of those days myself….
    Today was meant to be the day when i resumed work on my third novel.
    But I just can’t get my mojo into gear.

    So…I have done a quick 1k…. and hope I can go full-fire tomorrow evening.

    Posted by Imran Siddiq Writer (@Flickimp) | March 11, 2012, 16:32

Leave a Reply

