you're reading...
CB&S, Writing

The downfall of technology…

I count myself as a modern girl.  I’m typing this from my lovely new-ish mac book pro, my house holds every modern console on the market (mainly due to a gadget obsessed hub), I have a 3d TV (that we hardly ever use the 3D function on), blu-ray player, surround sound, a coffee machine, and the latest addition will be a bread maker – I’d love to know how that topic came around whilst my hub has been deployed, but he has returned home wanting one (yes people he’s finally home).

I recently upgraded my iPhone 3 to an iPhone 4S and didn’t back up the prior properly so not only did I lose my contacts, not always a bad thing, but I also lost my notes.  Now being a modern girl I write my inspired moments down in my notes function.  I had pages and pages that have disappeared into oblivion and I’m now kicking myself.  Those witty lines, perfect moments, quirky characters and ideal locations – gone.

I used to scoff at people attached to note-books, journals and diaries, but now I see the draw.  Although if I’d have taken said notebook out with me when my bag got stolen three weeks after receiving my brand new iPhone then that too would have gone (such a drama).  Although, I doubt I would have been able to read my notes after the alcohol consumed that evening.

I now have everything automatically backing-up to iCloud (my old iPhone didn’t have this luxury), but I’m still tempted to enter the world of note books.  There are some very pretty ones out there, but would I really pull out my note-book and start writing in public?  It’s far more inconspicuous to pull out your phone, especially in today’s society.

I’ve hit another bump in the road to finishing CB&S and recently read an article in Writing Magazine, I have no idea which edition. It recommended long hand for a first draft.  I know this method is supported by some published authors the first that springs to mind is Emma Darwin, and to be honest I always thought them mad, but I’m starting to wonder, especially after my recent brush with technology, if it may work for me.  It’s how I used to write back in my childhood, I recently found loads of my old writing and it was all long hand, so maybe I need to go back to times of old.

Bring on the stationary!

About Natalie James

I'm an air force wife. I've been with my husband since 2006 and married since 2009. He's been in the air force since 2002, so it's all I've known. Whilst we've been together he's been to Iraq and Afghanistan. I'm writing a fictional book on the trials and tribulations of being an air force girlfriend. One day I’m hoping I’ll get it published...one day.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

